Halfday

photography is a moment of embarrassment and a lifetime of pleasure – Tony Benn

Portrait Lighting Workshop with Jon Gray

Posted by Richard on Wed 01 October 2008

It was my birthday yesterday so I treated myself to a lighting workshop at Calumet in London

The day started with a review of some of Jon’s work and discussion of the lighting techniques used.

Then we had a go at setting up a plain white background

DSCF0586 DSCF0591 DSCF0598

I think I already knew this but I’ve never spent enough time getting it right So I’ll spend ages in  photoshop putting it right these pictures are straight out the camera. It saves so much time getting it right first time’

After lunch we had a go at a black background.  

 DSCF0603DSCF0643 DSCF0644

I’ve never got a black like this before so this was really useful.

DSCF0648 DSCF0650

I’ve made a mistake with the last 2 want to get as much contrast so I switched the DR on the Fuji to std which has caused the highlight to burn out. Serves as a good reminder why I bought the camera !!!

I got a lot of useful tips and ideas from the day just need to get some time in a studio to practise

Special thanks to Jon & Jade

Visit Jon’s website

Visit Jade’s website

Leave a Reply

 
